Monday, May 10, 2021
Tips

What is a pony car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

Reading time approx. 4 Minutes

1964 Ford Mustang Pony Car What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

The term pony car can be heard in car tuning, or tuned cars, very often. It is usually associated with cars from the United States of America. But what does he actually mean? Is every car that has been tuned in America automatically a pony car? As everyone knows today, even if he does not speak English, that is car the English word for Car. The word pony also comes from English, but we also use it as a loan word in German. According to the German definition, a pony is a horse with a height of less than 148 cm. Stick measure is a technical term for the shoulder height of a horse. So a pony is a small horse. But why do we, in auto tuning, refer to refurbished cars as little horses?

1967 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Pony Car

1967 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Pony Car What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

One would think that they would rather remind of racehorses or thoroughbreds, if you have to compare with ridiculous 1 PS. Of course Racing Horse Car or Thoroughbred Car would be much longer and harder to remember than the handy Pony Car, but we still do not want to think of our beloved tuned car as small and cute. The answer lies in American usage and cowboy tradition. For the cowboys, the word pony is less a size or breed name, but a nickname for their horse. Therefore, it became common among them, the favorite horse, which was of course also the best and fastest horse, to call a pony.

1970 AAR Plymouth Cuda Exterior Pony Car

1970 AAR Plymouth Cuda Exterior Pony Car What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

Thus, it is not surprising that even the beloved, fleet car in America lovingly became a pony. In addition, the term pony car usually refers not only on a car with tuning. As pony car one can designate a whole kind of American vehicles. Back goes the term Pony Car but primarily on the 1964er Ford Mustang. The name derives from the fact that a Mustang is a term for a horse. A Mustang is the original name of the American wild horses. It was exactly these wild horses that were once captured by the cowboys, ridden and lovingly called pony.

What is a pony car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

Of course that had not happened yet!

tuningblog has countless other articles on the subject of car and auto tuning in stock. Do you want to see them all? Just click HERE and look around. In part, we would also like to provide you with news aside from the tuning. In our category Tips, products, information & Co We have reviews of car or accessories manufacturers, new ones Tuning Wiki Terms or one or the other Leak veröffentlicht. Following an excerpt of the last articles:

Snowcaps - an accessory that stands out when tuning

Snowcaps Snow Caps tuningblog accessories% C3% B6r3 310x165 What is a pony car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

USDM tuning - what is it? We know it!

Cadillac CTS V FERRADA FR2 Airride Tuning 1 310x165 What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

More is always possible - Tuning by PP-Performance

760PS Mercedes AMG GTS by PP Performance Tuning 2 310x165 What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

With ABBES Tuning the car can not miss the perfect tuning

abbes tuning Ford Mustang 310x165 What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

Borbet rims from Kodersdorf - a round classic

VW Corrado Borbet A Rims Tuning EAH Customs 3 310x165 What is a Pony Car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

Totally satisfied - tuning with AEZ alloy wheels

aez suv wheels 6 310x165 What is a pony car? Is there autotuning for the pony?

"Tuningblog.eu" - we keep you up to date on the subject of car tuning and car styling with our tuning magazine and present you the latest tuned vehicles from all over the world every day. It's best to subscribe to ours Feed and will automatically be informed as soon as there is something new for this post, and of course also to all other contributions.

Smava tuning blog credit 12 e1618563898711 What is a pony car? Is there auto-tuning for the pony?

You might also be interested in…         by tuningblog.eu


Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Mittwoch , 14. April 2021
Tipps

Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Lesezeit ca. 4 Minuten

1964 Ford Mustang Pony Car Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Den Begriff Pony Car hört man im Autotuning, beziehungsweise für getunte Autos, sehr häufig. Üblicherweise wird er mit Autos aus den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika in Verbindung gebracht. Aber was bedeutet er eigentlich? Ist jedes Auto, das in Amerika einem Tuning unterzogen wurde automatisch ein Pony Car? Wie heutzutage wohl so ziemlich jeder weiß, selbst wenn er nicht Englisch spricht, ist car das englische Wort für Auto. Auch das Wort Pony stammt aus dem Englischen, aber wir benützen es als sogenanntes Lehnwort auch im Deutschen. Der deutschen Definition nach ist ein Pony ein Pferd mit einem „Stockmaß“ von unter 148 cm. Stockmaß ist ein Fachausdruck für die Schulterhöhe eines Pferdes. Somit ist ein Pony also ein kleines Pferd. Warum aber bezeichnen wir im Autotuning ausgerechnet auffrisierte Autos als kleine Pferde?

1967 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Pony Car

1967 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 Pony Car Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Man sollte doch meinen, dass sie eher an Rennpferde oder Vollblüter erinnern würden, wenn man sie denn mit lächerlichen 1 PS vergleichen muss. Freilich Racing Horse Car oder Thoroughbred Car wäre deutlich länger und schwerer zu merken als das handliche Pony Car, aber trotzdem wollen wir an unser geliebtes getuntes Auto nicht als klein und niedlich denken. Die Antwort liegt im amerikanischen Sprachgebrauch und der Cowboytradition der Vereinigten Staaten. Für die Cowboys ist das Wort Pony nämlich weniger eine Größen- oder Rassenbezeichnung, sondern ein Kosename für ihr Pferd. Daher wurde es unter ihnen bald üblich das Lieblingspferd, welches natürlich zumeist auch das beste und schnellste Pferd war, als Pony zu bezeichnen.

1970 AAR Plymouth Cuda Exterior Pony Car

1970 AAR Plymouth Cuda Exterior Pony Car Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Somit ist es also gar nicht so überraschend, dass auch das geliebte, flotte Auto in Amerika liebevoll zum Pony wurde. Zudem bezieht sich die Bezeichnung Pony Car üblicherweise nicht nur auf einem Auto mit Tuning. Als Pony Car kann man eine ganze Gattung amerikanischer Fahrzeuge bezeichnen. Zurück geht der Begriff Pony Car aber in erster Linie auf den 1964er Ford Mustang. Der Name leitet sich davon ab, dass ein Mustang eine Begriff für ein Pferd ist. Ein Mustang ist der ursprünglich Name der amerikanischen Wildpferde. Genau diese Wildpferde waren es auch die früher von den Cowboys eingefangen, zugeritten und liebevoll Pony genannt wurden.

 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Das war’s natürlich längst noch nicht gewesen!

tuningblog hat noch unzählige weitere Artikel rund um das Thema Auto und Autotuning auf Lager. Wollt Ihr sie alle sehen? Klickt einfach HIER und schaut Euch um. Zum Teil möchten wir euch aber auch abseits vom Tuning mit News versorgen. In unsere Kategorie Tipps, Produkte, Infos & Co haben wir Beiträge von Auto od. Zubehör Herstellern, neue Tuning-Wiki Begriffe oder den einen oder anderen Leak veröffentlicht. Folgend ein Auszug der letzten Artikel:

Snowcaps – ein Accessoire das beim Tuning auffällt

Snowcaps Snow Caps tuningblog zubeh%C3%B6r3 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

USDM Tuning – was ist das eigentlich? Wir wissen es!

Cadillac CTS V Ferrada FR2 Airride Tuning 1 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Mehr geht bekanntlich immer – Tuning by PP-Performance

760PS Mercedes AMG GTS von PP Performance Tuning 2 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Mit ABBES Tuning dem Auto das perfekte Tuning verpassen

abbes tuning Ford Mustang 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Borbet Felgen aus Kodersdorf – ein runder Klassiker

VW Corrado Borbet A Felgen Tuning EAH Customs 3 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Rundum zufrieden – Tuning mit AEZ Alufelgen

aez suv wheels 6 310x165 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

„tuningblog.eu“ – zum Thema Autotuning und Auto-Styling halten wir Euch mit unserem Tuning-Magazin immer auf dem laufenden und präsentieren Euch täglich die aktuellsten getunten Fahrzeuge aus aller Welt. Am besten Ihr abonniert unseren Feed und werdet so automatisch informiert sobald es zu diesem Beitrag etwas Neues gibt, und natürlich auch zu allen anderen Beiträgen.

Verivox tuningblog Kredit 12 Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?


go Was ist ein Pony Car? Gibt es Autotuning für das Pony?

Weitere interessante Themen!


Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.