Sources of error Installation dampers, springs, chassis Golf VII & VIII

de Deutsch

BILSTEIN Worn damper

Workshops that replace shock absorbers or springs in a Golf VII or VIII should definitely study the manufacturer's instructions beforehand. If a sports or coilover kit is retrofitted, the installation instructions enclosed with the product must be observed. That's what the BILSTEIN Academy advises, and it doesn't just refer to its own aftermarket products. The background is some special features in the front axle structure of the two Golf models, which are based on the modular transverse matrix (MQB). If these are ignored, problems can arise when driving.

Gulf VII & VIII

BILSTEIN Mustafa Yavuz Inspects chassis

The spectrum ranges from a cracking sound in the strut bearing to spring jumping when steering to an unstable, spongy driving experience or an atypical tire wear pattern. The phenomena mentioned are not usually due to defective components, but are due to small installation errors that would not have happened in many other vehicles in the first place. Because unlike usual, the top mounts of the front axle on MQB vehicles from VW are not symmetrical, but trapezoidal. They therefore require precise alignment of the components with one another. The BILSTEIN Academy has analyzed three of the most common sources of error in connection with this design and explained what workshops must pay attention to with the Golf VII and VIII.

Important information on correct component selection

BILSTEIN Mustafa Yavuz dismantling front wheel

Before that, however, there is a general note on the selection of the right suspension components, because the MQB models are available with two different spring strut diameters on the front axle (50 and 55 mm). At the rear it is also important to note that either a rigid or a multi-link axle can be installed. The best way to determine the correct components is to use the chassis number. Alternatively, the equipment on the front and rear axles can be measured or determined by a visual inspection of the vehicle. Another option is to determine the strut diameter using the service booklet. So it says e.g. B. the PR code G04 for 50 mm. However, the type of rear axle is not revealed here.

Typical error 1: Alignment of the dome bearing to the chassis (OE specification)

  • There are small arrows on the trapezoidal dome bearing of the front axle on the Golf VII and VIII, which are easily overlooked when replacing shock absorbers. These indicate the installation position of the top mount. If they are on the axis of travel, i.e. forwards and backwards, everything is correct. The spring coil ends then point outwards as specified. In order to subsequently evaluate the installation status, the three screws between the dome bearing and the dome mount must be loosened and the vehicle lifted carefully on the lifting platform.

Typical error 2: installing the pivot and dome bearing in the correct position (OE specification)

  • There is a groove in the top mount of the shock absorber into which the pivot bearing is inserted. When working on the chassis, there is a possibility that this was ignored and the two components were therefore assembled in the wrong position. The solution: Raise the vehicle on the lifting platform and check the positioning. If necessary, the necessary adjustments with regard to dome and pivot bearings must be carried out.

Typical error 3: Correctly align the spring coil to the dome bearing (BILSTEIN specification)

  • Important assembly instructions can be found in the BILSTEIN coilover kit box for the VW Golf VII and VIII. It states that the spring coil at the top of the dome bearing must absolutely face outwards. If this was initially not observed in your own company or if problems arise when driving a vehicle that has been converted by a third party, the condition on the lifting platform can be assessed. If necessary, the spring winding must be readjusted until the alignment with the dome bearing is correct. Photo credit: ThyssenKrupp Bilstein GmbH

BILSTEIN installation instructions

The following note is essential: For safety reasons, tuningblog recommends all repair, inspection and maintenance work exclusively to be carried out in a specialist workshop! Although our information is summarized to the best of our knowledge and belief, we cannot assume any liability for the content. All information is therefore "without guarantee".

Of course, that wasn't the end of it!

In this tuningblog category there are guides and instructions for common defects/repairs on the vehicle and for installing accessories/tuning parts. Our articles explain in a simple way common defects and the corresponding repairs and they also explain how the first signs of a defect become noticeable. In most cases, we also have initial clues to the repair instructions in our repair instructions approximate costs listed. The goal of ourAuto Repair Guide“ is to create a head start in knowledge for the next visit to the workshop with initial tips. This may save you from tedious troubleshooting and you may even be able to do small things yourself. The same applies, of course, to the installation of accessories/tuning parts. Here, too, we would like to help with the implementation with instructions and tips. There are many other posts on this as well. Below is an excerpt of the last and HERE there are all previous instructions.

other related posts

Refurbish plastics, leather and vinyl yourself with QUIXX products

QUIXX steering wheel before 310x165

Defects in the automatic / electric tailgate?

Electric tailgate Nachr%C3%BCsten Tuning E1568629413100 310x165

Driving without scratches – remove scratches on cars & Co. with QUIXX!

QUIXX Multi Repair Wipe Paint Scratches 310x165

Reduce or switch off AdBlue?

AdBlue System Tuningblog.eu 310x165

tuningblog.eu - we keep you up to date with our magazine on the subject of defects / repairs to the vehicle and the installation of accessories / tuning parts. It is best to subscribe to our feed and you will be informed automatically as soon as there is something new about this post. And of course to all other contributions.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Fehlerquellen Einbau Dämpfer, Federn, Fahrwerke Golf VII & VIII

de Deutsch

BILSTEIN Verschlissener Daempfer

Werkstätten, die bei einem Golf VII oder VIII Stoßdämpfer oder Federn ersetzen, sollten zuvor unbedingt die Herstellervorschrift studieren. Wird ein Sport- oder Gewindefahrwerk nachgerüstet, müssen unbedingt die dem Produkt beiliegenden Montagehinweise beachtet werden. Das rät die BILSTEIN Academy und bezieht sich dabei explizit nicht nur auf die eigenen Aftermarket-Produkte. Hintergrund sind einige Besonderheiten im Vorderachsaufbau der beiden Golf-Modelle, die auf dem Modularen Querbaukasten (MQB) basieren. Werden diese ignoriert, kann es zu Problemen beim Fahren kommen.

Golf VII & VIII

BILSTEIN Mustafa Yavuz Inspiziert Fahrwerk

Das Spektrum reicht dabei von einem Knacken im Domlager über ein Springen der Feder beim Lenken bis hin zu einem instabilen, schwammigen Fahrgefühl oder einem untypischen Reifenverschleißbild. Die genannten Phänomene sind in der Regel nicht auf defekte Komponenten zurückzuführen, sondern kleinen Einbaufehlern geschuldet, die bei vielen anderen Fahrzeugen gar nicht erst passiert wären. Denn anders als üblich sind die Domlager der Vorderachse bei MQB-Fahrzeugen von VW nicht symmetrisch, sondern trapezförmig. Deshalb erfordern sie eine genaue Ausrichtung der Komponenten untereinander. Die BILSTEIN Academy hat drei der gängigsten Fehlerquellen im Zusammenhang mit dieser Konstruktion analysiert und erläutert, worauf Werkstätten bei Golf VII und VIII unbedingt achten müssen.

Wichtige Hinweise zur korrekten Komponentenauswahl

BILSTEIN Mustafa Yavuz Demontage Vorderrad

Zuvor folgt allerdings noch ein allgemeiner Hinweis zur Auswahl der passenden Fahrwerkkomponenten, denn die MQB-Modelle werden an der Vorderachse mit zwei unterschiedlichen Federbeindurchmessern angeboten (50 und 55 mm). Hinten gilt es zudem zu beachten, dass entweder eine Starr- oder eine Mehrlenkerachse verbaut sein kann. Die Bestimmung der korrekten Bauteile erfolgt deshalb am besten anhand der Fahrgestellnummer. Alternativ kann durch eine Sichtprüfung am Fahrzeug die Ausstattung von Vorder- und Hinterachse ausgemessen beziehungsweise ermittelt werden. Eine weitere Option ist die Bestimmung des Federbeindurchmessers durch das Serviceheft. So steht z. B. der PR-Code G04 für 50 mm. Den Typ der Hinterachse erfährt man hier jedoch nicht.

Typischer Fehler 1: Ausrichtung der Domlager zum Chassis (OE-Vorgabe)

  • Auf dem trapezförmigen Domlager der Vorderachse befinden sich bei Golf VII und VIII kleine Pfeile, die beim Stoßdämpferaustausch schnell übersehen werden. Diese zeigen die Einbaulage der Domlager an. Stehen sie in Fahrtachse, also nach vorne und hinten, ist alles korrekt. Die Federwindungsenden zeigen dann vorschriftsmäßig nach außen. Um den Einbauzustand nachträglich zu bewerten, müssen die drei Schrauben zwischen Domlager und Domaufnahme gelöst und das Fahrzeug auf der Hebebühne vorsichtig angehoben werden.

Typischer Fehler 2: Dreh- und Domlager in richtiger Position verbauen (OE-Vorgabe)

  • Im Domlager der Stoßdämpfer existiert eine Nut, in die das Drehlager eingesetzt wird. Bei Fahrwerkarbeiten besteht die Möglichkeit, dass dies ignoriert und die beiden Bauteile somit in falscher Position zusammengebaut wurden. Die Lösung: Fahrzeug auf der Hebebühne anheben und Positionierung prüfen. Bei Bedarf müssen die erforderlichen Anpassungen hinsichtlich Dom- und Drehlager durchgeführt werden.

Typischer Fehler 3: Federwindung zum Domlager korrekt ausrichten (BILSTEIN-Vorgabe)

  • Im Karton der BILSTEIN Gewindefahrwerke für den VW Golf VII und VIII findet sich ein wichtiger Montagehinweis. Er besagt, dass die Federwindung oben am Domlager unbedingt nach außen stehen muss. Wurde dies im eigenen Betrieb zunächst nicht beachtet oder treten bei einem durch Dritte umgerüsteten Fahrzeug Probleme im Fahrbetrieb auf, kann der Zustand auf der Hebebühne bewertet werden. Gegebenenfalls muss die Federwindung nachjustiert werden, bis die Ausrichtung zum Domlager stimmt. Bildnachweis: Thyssenkrupp Bilstein GmbH

BILSTEIN Einbauhinweise

Der folgende Hinweis ist unverzichtbar: tuningblog empfiehlt aus Sicherheitsgründen, alle Reparatur, Inspektions – und Wartungsarbeiten ausschließlich in einer Fachwerkstatt durchführen zu lassen! Zwar sind unsere Informationen nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen zusammengefasst, jedoch können wir keinerlei Haftung für die Inhalte übernehmen. Alle Angaben sind deshalb „ohne Gewähr“.

Das war es natürlich längst noch nicht gewesen!

In dieser tuningblog-Kategorie gibt es Ratgeber und Anleitungen rund um gängige Defekte / Reparaturen am Fahrzeug sowie zum Anbau von Zubehör-/Tuning-Parts. Unsere Beiträge erklären auf einfache Art und Weise häufig vorkommende Defekte und die entsprechenden Reparaturen und sie erläutern auch, wie sich die ersten Anzeichen eines Defektes bemerkbar machen. Meist haben wir in unseren Reparaturanleitungen auch erste Anhaltspunkte zu den ungefähren Kosten aufgeführt. Das Ziel von unserem „Autoreparatur Ratgeber“ ist es, mit ersten Tipps einen Wissensvorsprung für den nächsten Werkstattbesuch zu schaffen. Das erspart eventuell eine langwierige Fehlersuche und kleine Dinge können vielleicht sogar direkt in Eigenregie erledigt werden. Gleiches gilt natürlich für den Anbau von Zubehör- /Tuning-Parts. Auch hier möchten wir mit Anleitungen und Tipps bei der Umsetzung helfen. Dazu haben noch viele andere Beiträge auf Lager. Folgend ein Auszug der letzten und HIER gibt es alle bisherigen Anleitungen.

weitere thematisch passende Beiträge

Kunststoffe, Leder und Vinyl mit QUIXX-Produkten selbst aufarbeiten

QUIXX Lenkrad Vorher 310x165

Defekte an der automatischen / elektrischen Heckklappe?

Elektrische Heckklappe Nachr%C3%BCsten Tuning E1568629413100 310x165

Schrammenlos in Fahrt – mit QUIXX Kratzer an Auto & Co. beseitigen!

QUIXX Multi Repair Wipe Lackkratzer 310x165

Reduzieren oder Abschalten von AdBlue?

AdBlue System Tuningblog.eu  310x165

tuningblog.eu – zum Thema Defekte / Reparaturen am Fahrzeug sowie zum Anbau von Zubehör-/Tuning-Parts halten wir euch mit unserem Magazin immer auf dem Laufenden. Am besten ihr abonniert unseren Feed und werdet so automatisch informiert, sobald es zu diesem Beitrag etwas Neues gibt. Und natürlich auch zu allen anderen Beiträgen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.